ENL UTC Celebrates Annual Awards Ceremony

By 23rd July 2018Latest news

The UTC hosted its annual awards ceremony at the college, which recognises the hard work and effort of the students throughout the academic year. It brought together staff, students, and industry partners to celebrate the successes of the college and our students.

Students collected awards for a range of subjects and employer engagement. There were also awards for ‘Outstanding Student’ in each year group as well as special recognition. The biggest award of the evening was the Phillips 66 Industry Partnership Award which was rewarded to Francine Mulaya in Year 10, who was recognised for being a fantastic ambassador of the college, demonstrating the UTC’s core values and embracing every opportunity for self-development.

Carly Boden, Business Engagement Lead who presented the award said, “Francine has been involved in a number of activities where she has gone above and beyond. She takes responsibility for new students and has been involved in developing new ideas for promoting engineering within the local community, and especially encouraging girls to consider a career in engineering.”

Francine’s mother, Ms Mulaya was delighted at her daughter’s award, “It’s a fantastic achievement for a young, black female to receive this award on her own merit in a traditionally white and male-dominated industry. I’m really proud of Francine.”

The college’s industry partners and local companies were present, including: Phillips 66, Cristal, RAF, ECITB, Pepperells Solicitors, and Vision for Education.

Congratulations to all the winners!

The full list of winners:

Philips 66 Industry Partnership Award:

  • Francine Mulaya

Outstanding Student:

  • Spencer Lamingman – Year 10
  • Luke Storey – Year 11
  • Aaron Tompkins – Year 12
  • Matthew Boden and Olivia Johnson – Year 13

Employer Engagement Awards:

  • Jack Cox
  • Josh Robinson
  • Jordan Wattam

Special Recognition:

  • Charlotte Cave
  • Kacy Fenwick

Subject Awards:


  • Oakley Pettitt


  • Tiernan MacDonald


  • Jake Foulger


  • Jack Binnington


  • Isaac Kolawole


  • Kieran Taylor

Engineering and Business

  • Harry Austin-Thomas

Engineering Design

  • Brandon Dixon

Engineering Manufacturing

  • Aiden Broadbent

Engineering Level 3 Extended Certificate

  • Harry Oades

Computer Science

  • Michael Popa-Boiangiu

Join the discussion One Comment

  • Lorraine Wattam says:

    Well done to all the winners and especially my son Jordan Wattam on his achievements in the past year

Leave a Reply