ENL UTC board of governors.

Board of Trustees

The ENLUTC’s Board of Trustees is made up of individuals from the community who have business, management or education experience, alongside staff and parents.

The role of the Board of Trustees is absolutely key to the effectiveness of the UTC. School trustees are legally accountable for managing the UTC and have overall responsibility and accountability for its performance.  The Trustees uphold the ethos and values of the UTC and monitor key performance indicators and holds the UTC to account for:

  • Teaching and learning
  • Safeguarding procedures
  • Links with parents/carers and the local community
  • Links with its core partners
  • Financial management

Trustees are appointed to a four-year term of office and meet at least six times per year, the Chair is appointed on an annual basis.

Trustees: Graham Thornton (Chair), Matthew Hancock (Vice-Chair), Karen Arundel, Steve Kelly, Natasha Andrew, Mark Setterfield, Nigel Whittle, Anesta McCullagh


ENLUTC has two committees, both of which meet at least three times per year.  The finance, audit and risk committee and the curriculum and standards committee are chaired by Professor Steve Kelly.

Finance, Audit & Risk: Steve Kelly (Chair), Graham Thornton, Mark Setterfield, Anesta McCullagh

Curriculum & Standards: Steve Kelly (Chair), Karen Arundel, Matthew Hancock, Nigel Whittle, Anesta McCullagh


Members are not involved in the UTC’s day-to-day management.  Their role is minimal and one of oversight.  The Members ensure the Board of Trustees are carrying out their function well and that the charitable objectives of the UTC are being fulfilled, including the provision of a broad and balanced curriculum to advance the education of its students.

Members: Nina Stobart, Sharon Stead, Deborah Robinson, Brendan Conlan

The role of the governing body.

The ENL UTC’s board of governors is made up of individuals from the community who have business, management or education experience, alongside staff and parents.

The role of the governing board is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school. School governors and trustees provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. They appoint the principal and deputy principal. Governors/trustees hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors and trustees who work with the principal to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.

Each individual governor is a member of a governing board, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing board and decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing board.

Meet our governors.

  • The Chair of the Governors is: Graham Thornton
  • The Clerk to the Governors is: Amy Altoft


  • Brendan Conlan
  • Nina Stobart
  • Sharon Stead
  • Deborah Robinson


  • Karen Arundel
  • Stephen Kelly
  • Natasha Andrew
  • Anesta McCullagh
  • Mark Setterfield
  • Matthew Hancock
  • Nigel Whittle
  • Graham Thornton

For declarations of interests, audited documents or annual reports, please contact the Clerk to the Governors, Amy Altoft on

To view our Register of Interest, please follow the link below.